Unorthodox

(0) Erste Bewertung abgeben
(4) LovelyBooks.de Bewertung
CHF 12.70
Download steht sofort bereit
E-Book (epub)
Informationen zu E-Books
E-Books eignen sich auch für mobile Geräte (sehen Sie dazu die Anleitungen).
E-Books von Ex Libris sind mit Adobe DRM kopiergeschützt: Erfahren Sie mehr.
Weitere Informationen finden Sie hier.

Beschreibung

The instant New York Times bestselling memoir of a young Jewish womans escape from a religious sect, in the tradition of Ayaan Hirsi Alis Infidel and Carolyn Jessops Escape, featuring a new epilogue by the author.As a member of the strictly religious Satmar sect of Hasidic Judaism, Deborah Feldman grew up under a code of relentlessly enforced customs governing everything from what she could wear and to whom she could speak to what she was allowed to read. It was stolen moments spent with the empowered literary characters of Jane Austen and Louisa May Alcott that helped her to imagine an alternative way of life. Trapped as a teenager in a sexually and emotionally dysfunctional marriage to a man she barely knew, the tension between Deborahs desires and her responsibilities as a good Satmar girl grew more explosive until she gave birth at nineteen and realized that, for the sake of herself and her son, she had to escape.

Autorentext

Deborah Feldman



Klappentext

Now a Netflix original series!

Unorthodox is the bestselling memoir of a young Jewish woman's escape from a religious sect, in the tradition of Ayaan Hirsi Ali's Infidel and Carolyn Jessop's Escape, featuring a new epilogue by the author.

As a member of the strictly religious Satmar sect of Hasidic Judaism, Deborah Feldman grew up under a code of relentlessly enforced customs governing everything from what she could wear and to whom she could speak to what she was allowed to read. Yet in spite of her repressive upbringing, Deborah grew into an independent-minded young woman whose stolen moments reading about the empowered literary characters of Jane Austen and Louisa May Alcott helped her to imagine an alternative way of life among the skyscrapers of Manhattan. Trapped as a teenager in a sexually and emotionally dysfunctional marriage to a man she barely knew, the tension between Deborah's desires and her responsibilities as a good Satmar girl grew more explosive until she gave birth at nineteen and realized that, regardless of the obstacles, she would have to forge a path—for herself and her son—to happiness and freedom.

Remarkable and fascinating, this "sensitive and memorable coming-of-age story" (Pittsburgh Post-Gazette) is one you won't be able to put down.

Mehr anzeigen

Produktinformationen

Titel
Unorthodox
Untertitel
The Scandalous Rejection of My Hasidic Roots
Autor
EAN
9781439187029
ISBN
978-1-4391-8702-9
Format
E-Book (epub)
Herausgeber
Simon + Schuster Inc.
Genre
Geschichte
Veröffentlichung
14.02.2012
Digitaler Kopierschutz
Adobe-DRM
Dateigrösse
2.05 MB
Anzahl Seiten
272
Jahr
2012
Untertitel
Englisch
Mehr anzeigen
Andere Kunden kauften auch