Dean And Me

(0) Erste Bewertung abgeben
CHF 26.90
Auslieferung erfolgt in der Regel innert 2 bis 3 Wochen.
Kartonierter Einband
Kein Rückgaberecht!

Beschreibung

For ten years after WWII, Dean Martin and Jerry Lewis weren't only the most successful show business act in history, they were history. Starting as a fill-in for another act in Atlantic city, their improvised, anarchic routines soon sold out all the greatest venues in America. They made films, they made millions. They made a legend. But amidst the dazzling success and the late night laughter, tensions developed between the reserved straight man, Martin, and the manic goon, Lewis. When the duo, who had reinvented the comic double-act, split acrimoniously in 1956 they didn't speak to one another for the next 20 years. This is an intimate memoir of those years of fame and success by one of the only surviving legends of the rat-pack era. Jerry Lewis remembers everything - the casinos, the mobsters, the endless pranks, the cocktails, the women, the meteoric rise to stardom. Here for the first and only time and in his own inimitable, wise-cracking voice he re-lives his days of glory with Dean Martin and gives a frank account of their relationship and break-up. A hilarious ride and heart-breaking, cautionary tale of what fame and fortune can do to love and friendship.

Vorwort

A wise-cracking memoir of one of the greatest comedy double acts of all time

The funny, atmospheric memoir of performing alongside Dean Martin in the most successful double act of all time



Autorentext
Jerry Lewis is one of the greatest living American comedians, revered in the States and Europe as a comic auteur in the tradition of Chaplin and Keaton. Born in 1926 in Newark New Jeresey, from the age of five he performed on stage alongside his parents, also comics. After splitting with Dean Martin he went on to produce, direct and star in a series of highly successful films throughout the fifties and sixties. In 1982 he was declared clinically dead after a massive heart-attack resulting from his excessive life style. He was miraculously revived and went on to continue to play important roles in modern classic films, such as Martin Scorcesee's The King Of Comedy (1983) and Billy Crystal's Mr. Saturday Night (1992).

Mehr anzeigen

Produktinformationen

Titel
Dean And Me
Untertitel
A Love Story
Autor
EAN
9781447260813
ISBN
978-1-4472-6081-3
Format
Kartonierter Einband
Herausgeber
Pan macmillan Ltd.
Genre
Kunst
Anzahl Seiten
352
Gewicht
535g
Größe
H235mm x B155mm x T29mm
Jahr
2014
Untertitel
Englisch
Mehr anzeigen
Andere Kunden kauften auch